Students, an alumnus and the college president earned 11 awards at the Journalism Association of Community Colleges 59th annual state convention in Burbank on April 4 and 5.

City magazine, advised by Cindy Frye, Morgan Barnard and Jeff Smeding, earned general excellence.

Alumnus Jesus Hernandez was named Volunteer of the Year, President Eloy Oakley gained the First Amendment award and student Samwell Favela received the top scholarship.
Hernandez also took home a first-place plaque for bring-in news photo and second-place honor for bring-in advertisement.

Viking editor-in-chief Eliza de la Flor was awarded third place for on-the-spot feature writing, Braxton Moore captured fourth place for bring-in info-graphic and Bakr Alduhaim took fourth for bring-in feature photo.
Honorable mentions were received by Leonard Kelley for bring-in photo and Kristin Grafft for on-the-spot news photo.

Eliza de la Flor, 32, a journalism major, said, “I was surprised and thrilled to place. It was my first attempt at feature writing.”

The convention hosted 545 student delegates from 43 schools and two colleges not in attendance also competed in publications contests.
LBCC recipients will receive formal recognition at the Board of Trustees meeting at 5 p.m. Tuesday, April 29, in T1200.